The client/server licence is designed to be used in a network environment were multiple users may be working on the same job, or may just need access to jobs created by other users in the same network.
Cubit client/server installations require a server-side install on the database server and client install on the user’s device. Any jobs created will be saved into the database on the server and will be visible to other Cubit networked users in the office.
Cubit client/server type licenses can have the clients installed as a Fixed or Floating licence.
A fixed licence for the Cubit software is designed to be used only on one PC and is best for users who do not need to share the licence with other users or PCs in the office. Cubit would be installed and registered on the PC using the fixed licence and cannot be deactivated from that PC without uninstalling the software.
A floating licence for the Cubit software is designed to be used on multiple PCs, just not at the same time.
Cubit would be installed and registered on the PC using the floating licence and can later be deactivated from that PC if required by using the Deactivate Licence option in the Cubit menu on the Job Manager screen.
Fig 1. Deactivate licence
Alternatively, the software can be set to release the licence automatically when closing the software. This is done by turning on the 'Release licence when exiting' option in the Cubit Options. Detailed instructions on how this can be done can be found here. A video for this feature is also available here.
To install Cubit, you will need the installation links from Buildsoft. These would have been emailed to you along with your serial key codes for registering the software.
The client/server installation guide can be found here.